REVIEWS

Click this text to start editing. This block is a basic combination of a title and a paragraph. Use it to welcome visitors to your website, or explain a product or service without using an image. Try keeping the paragraph short and breaking off the text-only areas of your page to keep your website interesting to visitors.

Updated December 2017

Beautiful! - Five Stars

Beautiful space! The owners are professional - just the right amount of friendly, and quite thoughtful.  We could stay forever and live our best life. Steve and Melody, Indianapolis IN

     - Stayed: June 2019


A Dream Find - Five Stars

This was a dream find! Perfect in every way. Impeccable!  A great location for walking, restaurants or just relaxing.  We will be back!  Thanks!  Mary and Ermanno

   - Stayed: January 2019


Great Stay - Five Stars

Great stay at La Jolla Retreat. Perfect position for La Jolla Village and beach.  Welcome package a nice surprise. Highly recommended!  Anthony and Geraldine

   - Stayed: July 2018


Clean, Quiet and Comfortable   .  Five Stars

La Jolla Retreat is a gem of a vacation spot.  Private, yet close to everything.  This place had everything you could possibly think of to have a fantastic vacation!  Thank you Steve.   Marion and Simon

     - Stayed:  June 2018


Everything we could ask for  .  Five Stars

Great communication, well stocked home, quiet & comfortable, and within walking distance to excellent restaurants and all of our shopping needs.  The time went too fast.  Robert and Meg

    - Stayed: May 2018


We LOVED our stay  . Five Stars

We LOVED our stay in your perfect hideaway!! It was extremely comfortable & quiet. Thank you for thinking of everything! We'll be back... Jeanne & Tom, CO

  • Stayed: April 2018


A few of my favorite things... - Five Stars

To parody "The Sound of Music", these are a few of my favorite adjectives to describe Steve's La Jolla Retreat: charming, clean, convenient, cozy, romantic, adorable and delightful.  Betsy, Washington DC

  • Stayed: April 2018


We loved everything about your cottage - Five Stars

Arrived on a rare cold and rainy night in San Diego to the perfect cottage: a gas fireplace to warm us up, beautifully lit rooms with lovely paintings by the artist owner decorating the walls, and nice touches like really plush bathrobes and slippers and a generous welcoming package. The living room, bedroom, and bathroom were immaculate and included everything one could need. The location could not have been better: completely private and quiet with off street parking, yet an easy walk to at least four nice restaurants. The owner was very responsive to every detail before arrival and available when needed while there.  Steve S, Marblehead MA

  • Stayed: March 2018


Private, cozy and tastefully decorated gem in the heart of La Jolla  - 5 STARS of 5

We had a wonderful first visit to La Jolla! Thank you, Steve, you thought of everything to make our visit easy and special! We’ll be back!  Cheri S

  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2018
  • Stayed: March 2018
  • Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


A Wonderful Place To Stay - Ticks All The Boxes  •  5 STARS of 5

We spent a week recently in La Jolla staying at Steve's Retreat, a wonderful little cottage that is perfect for a couple. It is private and quiet with all the amenities anyone would need plus it's within easy walking distance of the town centre. This is the second year we've stayed there and hopefully it won't be the last, it ticks all the boxes as far as we're concerned.  Richard N.

• Submitted: Jan 15, 2018

• Stayed: January 2018

• Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Nice Beach Cottage  •  5 STARS of 5

We had a terrific stay, far too short, the cottage was so perfectly and generously equipped, you thought of everything, especially grateful for t.v. instructions, restaurant gift certificate, just all the extras were so greatand the cottage was so perfectly appointed and immaculate. We loved it!  Regards, Jim

• Submitted: Sep 27, 2017

• Stayed: September 2017 

• Source: HomeAway


Guido from Delaware  •  5 STARS of 5

My stay was for medical purposes and the space and surrounding area brightened my spirits everyday for the 10 weeks. The place has everything you need, great lighting, designated parking area & private outdoor space. Walked to any number of great restaurants, juice bars, diners and taco stands & coffee shops everywhere. A full gym, grocery store, CVS all within walking distance. If you want you could walk to buy a Lamborghini or a R.Royce, crazy area. Really never needed the car except to explore. Best of all were the walks along LaJolla's coast including Wind N Sea beaches just 10 minutes away. Steve as the host was forever helpful while providing privacy. The pictures just don't quite do it justice....you will be pleased. Guido D, Dewey Beach, DE

• Submitted: Mar 10, 2017 

• Stayed: August 2016

• Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Wonderful stay and host!  •  5 STARS of 5

I totally agree with Richard E. and Jennifer! My wife and I so enjoyed this lovely property and wonderful host Steve! We have stayed at many VRBO's but have enjoyed this one the most! We appreciated the quiet location, and it being so close to the downtown area and short 10 minute walk to the beach. We really enjoyed the Harbor Seals of the children's pool and Sea Lions at LaJolla Cove. So many wonderful restaurants within walking distance. My meetings were at a nearby hotel that I drove to, but am so glad my wife was in this wonderful cottage and location. It is always so nice to have a functional, well supplied kitchen and laundry facilities. We would feel blessed to be able to return one day! Thank you Steve for making this wonderful place! We so enjoyed working with you! Paul G

• Submitted: Feb 2, 2017

• Stayed: January 2017

• Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


New La Jolla Favorite  •  5 STARS of 5

We stayed in this lovely cottage for ten days over Christmas, 2016. We have come to La Jolla often over the years and have rented several properties, but this cozy cottage has gone to the top of our list. The cottage is even better than the photos on the website. It has a cozy, warm feeling, is tastefully furnished and decorated, and has everything you need to feel right at home. The artwork displayed, most done by the cottage owner, give the place a very personal feel. The gas fire place, on chilly Christmas season evenings, adds great charm to an already charming abode. The kitchen has everything you need to prepare meals from scratch or simply heat up take away items from nearby stores or restaurants. We ate breakfast in just about daily and prepared evening meals six out of the ten nights. We had lunch on warm days on the delightful, private patio.

The location of this cottage is perfect. It is in a quiet residential neighborhood, but is a five minute walk to stores and restaurants. Another 10 minutes and you are in the hustle and bustle of the heart of the village. This place gives you the best of both worlds.

The owner, Steve, assured a very efficient and prompt reservation/ payment process, gave us a warm welcome and thorough orientation to the cottage, and provided a very informative packet of information about the property and surrounding area.

This cottage has become our new favorite La Jolla destination and we can't wait to return. Richard E, Seattle

• Submitted: Jan 10, 2017

• Stayed: December 2016

• Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Perfect place for couples!  •  5 STARS of 5

My husband and I just got back from a fabulous trip to LaJolla! A big part of what it made it so great is this lovely cottage. It is perfect for two people. It is very well maintained and updated if you want to spend some relaxing time hanging out after a long day of sight seeing. It is stocked with all you need and more. Just a 10 minute quick walk to the beach and an even shorter one to great restaurants. Thank you Steve for letting us stay in your cottage, we made many beautiful memories we will have for a lifetime. Anonymous, CO

• Submitted: Jun 30, 2016

• Stayed: June 2016

• Source: VRBO, from HomeAway


Perfect for couples  •  5 STARS of 5

We had a nice stay in this well appointed cottage located in a quiet residential neighborhood. Owners are next door, very responsive if questions or needs but allow you complete privacy. Patio with gas BBQ, nice landscaping, comfy furniture, all kitchen appliances, TV with netflix. House is very clean and perfectly maintained, looks just like the pictures. Short walk to grocery store, restaurants, great fish market right down the street and close-by farmer's market on Sunday (highly recommend). If you are looking to stay in La Jolla--this is a great option. We took a guided kayak tour with La Jolla Sea Kayaks. Take the early morning tour if you want less crowds. We had just 3 kayaks and sea lions popped up very close to us. We hiked in Torrey Pines State Reserve and enjoyed many walks on the beach! Mariann, Rochester Minnesota

• Submitted: Jul 3, 2015 Stayed: June 2015 Source: HomeAway


Love at first sight  •  5 STARS of 5

We fell in love with Steve's cottage on first sight, and the feeling lingers even now that we're back home. We stayed for a month. It was the perfect getaway, with all the amenities we could have asked for. The patio was beautiful and secluded, and had a grill where we cooked most of our dinners. The kitchen was efficient and came stocked with dishes, pans, silverware, utensils, a blender, and more. There was a nice washer/dryer out in back. But more than the amenities was the overall comfort and cozy mood of the place, which made us feel at home as soon as we walked in. 

We walked to the beach almost every day, tried various restaurants, took drives to Balboa Park, the Birch Aquarium, the Torrey Pines State Reserve, and more. Lots to see and do in the area, including an excellent shopping mall called University Towne Center which you can get to by bus if you don't feel like driving.

Steve was the perfect host -- there when we needed him, not when we didn't. We left feeling that we must return soon, and in fact are moving to La Jolla permanently in a few months.

Highly recommend this lovely spot. You won't want to leave! Phyllis G

• Submitted: Jun 3, 2014

• Stayed: April 2014

• Source: HomeAway


Perfect Location in La Jolla  - FIVE STARS

Left on Apr 6, 2017 for a stay in Mar 2017

Steve was a great host for our visit to La Jolla. His retreat was absolutely perfect for us. It had all the amenities of home including a fireplace, a great bed, and even beach chairs! The location was walkable to La Jolla Cove and great restaurants which we found ideal. He provided us with excellent recommendations for exploring and dining which proved invaluable since we were only able to stay for two days. Our experience only whetted our appetite to go back and spend more time at Steve's lovely La Jolla retreat.  Monterry_11_86, Salinas CA

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.



Anniversary Retreat.  - FIVE STARS

Left on Nov 16, 2016 for a stay in Nov 2016

Spent our 30th Anniversary at this great cottage. It was a very quiet, comfortable, well furnished and private retreat close to everything. Steve made us feel welcome from the beginning responding quickly to our questions before arrival and making sure we had everything we needed for a great stay. We definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a peaceful, comfortable retreat in La Jolla. We'll definitely be back. Thanks Steve.  Whichthat, Silver Spring, MD

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Magnificent honeymoon retreat. -  FIVE STARS

Left on Aug 8, 2016 for a stay in Aug 2016

My wife and I arrived in San Diego for our honeymoon needing a relaxing week in the worst way. We had high hopes for this vacation cottage, and it somehow exceeded them. It started at the very beginning of our visit when we noticed that "private patio" meant ALL OURS. No sharing with the main house. The lovely surprises continued all week long. Need a few kitchen utensils after shopping at La Jolla's farmers market? We had 'em. Need sunscreen? Got it. Need a beach umbrella and boogie boards? Of course! Steve had everything we needed to make our honeymoon perfect. We'll never forget it.  Harvo1, Phoenix AZ

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of tripadvisorLLC


Wonderful getaway near the beach. - FIVE STARS

Left on Oct 4, 2015 for a stay in Jun 2015

Stayed here with my wife as a anniversary retreat. Really enjoyed being within walking distance to the beach and being able to rent a bike and get to La Jolla Cove. Also close to "downtown" La Jolla with shops, eateries, and galleries. The cottage was cozy and had everything you could need in the kitchen. Gas fireplace was great for ambience and actual warmth in the cool evenings (it was actually overcast and misty most of the time we were there....apparently that is the case in June). The bed was very comfortable...maybe the best I've slept on in lodging away from home in a long time. We enjoyed Steve's art in the cottage and he gave us a tour of more of his work in his studio, most of which is available for sale. Highly recommended...good price...we'd stay here again if in the area. DML2011, Dallas TX

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Wonderful beach escape  - FIVE STARS

Left on Apr 10, 2015 for a stay in Apr 2015

We had a wonderful experience in this rental. Steve manages with the professionalism of a hotel but feeling of a home. The Rental was even nicer than pictures show, well equipped and located. Home has a washer and dryer as well and close to many wonderful restaurants, beaches and close to attractions. Loved having windows open and sitting on patio. Highly recommend and would stay again. Twocats215, New Mexico

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Birthday getaway.  - FIVE STARS

Left on Sep 19, 2014 for a stay in Aug 2014

4 people found this review helpful

The cottage is located close to some great restaurants and the beach. Short drive to other local beaches. Clean, comfortable. Parking in back was a huge plus. Outdoor shower convenient, as well, so as to not have to bring sand in the house after a walk on the beach. Nice patio with bbq. Steve is a very nice and thoughtful host. He left us a bottle of wine and chocolates as a birthday gift. Internet access was fine. The cottage is in a neighborhood that is fun to walk around at night. See the "Globe House". Pretty cool. Very close to Prospect Street (high end stores and restaurants with superb views of La Jolla Cove). Have dinner at Eddie V's on Prospect Street. Please ask for Max and tell him Cynthia sent you. He will take great care of you. Check out Ocean Beach. Funky, lots of antique stores and places to eat. Went to Newport Beach for whale watching. To be honest, traffic was pretty heavy on the way up (coming from NM), but the trip to Balboa Island, even if you don't take a whale watching tour, is a must! Who knew it was actually inhabited with great restaurants, fun shopping, quaint stores and gift shops. David A, Bourne End, United Kingdom

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Even better than expected  - FIVE STARS

Left on Jun 27, 2014 for a stay in Jun 2014

We had some expectations from the cottage we booked, but Google Earth made it look a little suburban. The cottage was superb, nice size and well equipped. It was a great location and as described it was walkable to beaches, and to restaurants and town centre of La Jolla. It was perfect! being in a "suburban" road it was so easy to access routes for exploring by car, although I think that San Diego is matching Los Angeles for Traffic jams! Highly recommended; and owner Steve was very helpful without being intrusive. Fallfan54, Tahoe City CA

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Wonderful Weekend Stay. - FIVE STARS

Left on Feb 27, 2014 for a stay in Feb 2014

1 people found this review helpful

My wife and I make a yearly trip to the San Diego area in Jan/Feb to escape the cold and snow of home. In the past we've enjoyed excursions to La Jolla for dinner, shopping, and the Farmer's Market but have never stayed in the city. Our recent trip included celebrating Valentine's Day. This beautiful and comfortable cottage more than exceeded our expectations. We talked each day about how much we enjoyed staying at this cottage as opposed to any of the number of hotels we've previously stayed at in the area. First of all, the cottage is really attractive and very comfortable. It sits behind the owner's home and is very quiet. In fact, the entire neighborhood is quiet. The king bed was comfortable and we slept well. The kitchen had all you'd need to prepare meals. We never did prepare meals but did cut up fruit purchases and fresh bread. We enjoyed the ample living room every night by lighting up the gas fireplace, cuddled on the sofa, and watched a few Netflix movies. There's a small patio area with chairs and a table. You have access to a washer/dryer. That was handy. They have some smaller beach towels to borrow. Also a couple of beach chairs. The owners were great. It was easy to secure the reservation. They returned our deposit within 3 days of our departure. We talked briefly at check-in, acquainted ourselves, and asked a few questions. I highly recommend a stay here but, in saying so, realize that such positive comments might just make it more difficult for us to book a return trip. We will return next year. Thoroughly loved our stay. Petaluma

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Lovely cottage with a great location. - FIVE STARS

Left on Sep 10, 2013 for a stay in Sep 2013

If you want a really nice place to stay in La Jolla for 1-2 people, this cottage is perfect. It's cute, quiet, has lots of amenities and a fantastic location near the beach and close to the village. There are lots of places to eat nearby as well. I wish my stay could have been longer!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC. David7star, Solihull, United Kingdom


Just bring Yourselves. - FIVE STARS

Left on Aug 8, 2013 for a stay in Aug 2013

La Jolla was the end of our Road Trip holiday and we decided that we needed a week, therefore we wanted something different to the previous 7 hotels that we stayed at during the rest of our vacation.......And we got it. The cottage is positioned well for La Jolla, and also in a quiet neighbourhood. The facility is very clean it has a kitchen area, separate bathroom and separate bedroom. The owners have thought of everything....... It's not like a usual self-catering apartment where you need to bring everything....towels are provided even ones for the beach, chairs for the beach, Boogie Boards, toiletries and some basics for cooking. To be honest I was a little unsure before I arrived as I thought that the accommodation would be smaller (its big enough), I Thought it was a little bit expensive ...... It's worth it, and I wondered why no reviews in the last 12 months........my conclusion is that some of the visitors want to keep it a secret. The owners are friendly and live on the adjoining property, I am confident that they would be more than happy to help their guests enjoy their stay. Therefore if you are visiting La Jolla and need a base you won't go wrong with the Retreat. JakesFriend, Flagstaff AZ

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Perfection. - FIVE STARS

Left on Aug 19, 2012 for a stay in Jul 2012

Review title says it all. Great place for those who want a peaceful quiet location near good resturants and activities. Could not of been happier with it. Thanks  Kathy713, Napa CA

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Perfect oasis.  - FIVE STARS

Left on Aug 3, 2012 for a stay in Jul 2012

The cottage and its location to everything was just what we wanted. Walking distance to a wonderful beaches, to restaurants and shopping and easy access to the freeway to head to downtown San Diego. The owner Steve Wilson was so warm and informative with anything we needed. The cottage has everything anyone would need, he really thought of every detail. We had just a wonderful time in La Jolla, beautiful town, beaches, food and people. Thanks again MLouiseD, King City, Canada

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

a

A note-perfect home-away-from-home. - FIVE STARS

Left on Mar 15, 2012 for a stay in Feb 2012

1 people found this review helpful

We could not have been more delighted with the La Jolla Retreat - Steve has thought of everything a visitor could wish for. The cottage is blissfully private and quiet, sparkling clean and roomy, comfortable and cozy, with beautiful gardens and the most perfect location in the village - just a short walk away from the waterfront and a wide variety of excellent stores and wonderful restaurants. We hope to return one day soon, and have happily recommended the Retreat to all of our family and friends! MikeA0, Ann Arbor MI

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member


Perfect for 2 People. - FIVE STARS

Left on Feb 23, 2012 for a stay in Feb 2012

1 people found this review helpful

Great, private location - can walk to anyplace in the village and to several beaches. The cottage is compact, but very comfortable and well provisioned with everything you could need - indoors and outdoors. Steve and is a great host, next door but not obtrusive. Go the the farmer's market on Sundays - only 2 blocks away. IL

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Better than we ever dreamed for our anniversary. - FIVE STARS

Left on Sep 29, 2011 for a stay in Sep 2011

Celebrating our 20th anniversary here was such a special treat. We have traveled all over for many years and this is one of the best places we've ever stayed. We can't wait to return. Beautifully decorated cottage within walking distance of beach and village. Our hosts thought of everything we could possibly need for our stay. We loved having 2 flat screen TV's since we don't like the same programs! The size of the cottage was perfect and I was surprised at the nice size of the bathroom and built-in closet space. There is a great desk area for your computer which my husband loved. We have to mention the beautiful artwork - original oils surrounded us throughout the entire cottage. My birthday is in January - maybe... MA

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Special place in La Jolla. -  FIVE STARS

Left on Jul 8, 2011 for a stay in Apr 2011

Steve’s cottage is a very special get away couples retreat. You have the feeling they thought of everything. You are at home, but away in a unique La Jolla setting. The fact that you are within walking distance to the downtown and beaches is a real plus. There is the illusion that you suddenly live there. Our thought to go back during a harsh Boston winter is very enticing. There could be no better retreat. NY

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Rejuvenation at the La Jolla Retreat. - FIVE STARS

Left on Jul 22, 2011 for a stay in Jul 2011

Staying at the La Jolla retreat was a wonderful experience. The cottage is beautifully furnished and strewn with light filled paintings. Our king sized bed had sumptuous linens where we slept like babies. And we felt very nurtured as our every need was anticipated. Steve is wonderful host and we will definitely be back again. IL

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Wonderful, relaxing, quiet retreat! - FIVE STARS

Left on Jul 8, 2011 for a stay in Jan 2011

My husband and I have had the pleasure of staying at this charming cottage for three consecutive winter vacations. It never disappoints! The furnishings are beautiful, much higher quality than you would expect to see in a vacation rental, the king sized bed is wonderfully comfortable, and the fireplace is cozy on those cool La Jolla nights. We have taken full advantage of the BBQ grill, beach chairs, private patio, and proximity to Prospect Street and the beach, enjoying a gorgeous sunset every night. The cottage is close to shopping, restaurants, and night life, but is tucked away making it a quiet, private, secluded haven. Steve provided everything you will need for an unforgettable getaway. We are looking forward to visit Number 4!!

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


Nice Cottage - FIVE STARS

Left on Jul 7, 2011 for a stay in Jun 2011

My wife and I recently spent a week at the La Jolla retreat, and found it to be a everything promised. The cottage is well appointed with fine furnishings and a comfortable king bed. The location in close proximity to the Village and the ocean was a plus and it made for a great home-base during out stay in La Jolla. I would definitely recommend this cottage to singles/couples needing a quiet place in La Jolla.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.


6 star retreat. -  FIVE STARS

Left on Jul 1, 2011 for a stay in Jun 2011

A beautifully decorated,yet very comfortable cottage within easy walking distance of La Jolla Village. The owners have thought of just everything one needs on vacation, including WiFi, king bed, BBQ and Washer/Dryer. This was our 5th visit and we hope to be back many times in the future.

This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

.